Engineering, Procurement and Construction of Compact Hitachi Sewage Treatment Plant

×

Overview

Saudi Airlines Real Estate Development (SARED) has built a city for 9000 of the national carrier’s employees in Jeddah. The city maintains a lush green oasis by recycling and reusing water from the various accommodations, offices and shops within its borders. For twenty five years the old sewage plant had been treating and recycling the city’s waste water. Over that time the facility had become outdated and inefficient with issues of smell, mosquito infestation and poor water quality, while occupying a large physical foot print. For these reasons SARED pooled existing resources and talent with Hitachi. Together the two companies worked in co-creation to design a new onsite sewage treatment plant that remedy the problems of old and provided a better service to the community.

Using membrane bio-reactor (MBR) technology, Hitachi built a smaller plant while managing all aspects of engineering, procurement and construction. The new facility is capable of recycling 6000 m3 of water per day which is then used to irrigate the city’s trees, flowers and sports fields.

The MBR technology Hitachi possesses is a micro filtration process that removes bacteria and suspended solids. It is this technology that allowed Hitachi to address and solve the many problems of the old sewage treatment plant.

Over a year ago the new plant was delivered to the customer and put into operation. Even with this success, Hitachi continues to look for ways to improve this project through the implementation of its social innovation business. Currently the company is looking at a network to solve leakage issues or other general maintenance requirements that when unattended to cause inefficiency.

It is only through commitment and ingenuity that we will be able to create a sustainable future for all of us.

It is great to see the precious commodity of water being recycled and put to good use, helping make out desert region a little greener.


Eng. Majed Tasbahji
CEO Consultant / SARED

Challenges & Solution

Creative thinking and smarter technology solved design challenges

From the beginning SARED was very clear about what needed to be done. The old plant and settling pond covered a considerable amount of land. The pond created a breeding ground for mosquito’s and the general openness of plant equipment lead to bad smells contaminating the surrounding areas. Water quality was also a concern and the design developed with the client would have to be built while the old plant continued to run.

The collaborative design centers on Hitachi’s Membrane Bio-Reactor (MBR) units. The MBR units are enclosed which immediately reduces the sewage smell emitted. They are also compact, allowing the new plant to be built on one fifth the amount land which the old plant consumed. An added benefit of MBR technology is that it is transportable. Hitachi’s new design can be moved if city planning dictates the grounds be reconstituted for other uses.

Water quality is ensured by the new process in which sewage is treated. The new plant lifts incoming sewage through a series of grit, grease and sediment removal screens. Free of heavy solids, water is sent to an intermediate tank before being forced through a fine screen of 1 to 2 millimeters. After screening, water is aerated and oxidized to remove microorganisms. In the aeration tanks the water passes through the membrane bio-reactor (MBR), MBR is a mirco filtration process with a membrane pore size of 0.1 micron, this 0.1 micron not only removes suspended solids, but also bacteria such as coliform. Water is then dosed with disinfectant NaOCI before being pumped into one of the two holding tanks. The two enclosed holding tanks replace the settling pond which eliminates insect reproduction.

We at Hitachi were confident that we could allow the old plant to run as we built. At different stages of the process we successfully rerouted pipes that allowed the old system to continue to run.


Eng. Abdullah Badr Mohammad
Deputy General Manager
Sales and Business Development Dept.
Hitachi, Ltd.
Regional Head Quarters of Middle East & North Africa
Saudi Arabia Branch (Al Khobar)

Hitachi’s engineers and construction team were able to complete the design while never interrupting sewages services. The team had several contingencies in place, but did not have to execute any of them as they were able to schedule new assemblies with pipe movement of the old operation.

During the construction phases one unknown problem presented itself. The design called for two 3,000m3 treated water storage tanks. The land would not support the weight of these tanks when full. Handling the entire engineering, procurement and construction process, Hitachi’s team studied the problem and decided to dig 3.5 meter holes which would be back filled with rammed earth and topped with MAT foundations. The tanks where then built upon these fortified footings.

Hitachi’s team worked in co-creation with the client through all aspects of the process, solving past problems and delivering a product that can continue to grow and evolve with the city it serves.

New Dream

A collaboration that will continue to grow and change the world

The MBR technology Hitachi possesses is a micro filtration process that removes bacteria and suspended solids. It is this technology that allowed Hitachi to address and solve the many problems of the old sewage treatment plant.

Overall, Hitachi is working on solutions for water by using Information and Communication Technology (ICT) with RemixWater systems for seawater desalination and sewage treatment systems. Desalination and sewage water treatment are two major avenues where Hitachi sees sustainable production of clean drinking water and water recycling for irrigation purposes.

Specific to the Saudi City Jeddah project, Hitachi is exploring the incorporation of social innovation to solve network leak issues within the irrigation system and better manage preventative maintenance.

Further into the future, Hitachi and SARED will also be studying ways to better utilize the solid waste produced by the Jeddah compound. Currently, dewatering the sludge is the safest and most effective way for the facility to handle this by-product. Dewatering creates a cake that is disposed of in local landfill. Considerations will be given to processing the cake, so that it may have viable use as fertilizer, or as a soil additive. Methane gas recovery is possible in sizeable sewage treatment plants, but today in this stage and with the technology available this is not applicable solution for SARED yet.

We can no longer manipulate the resources available to us without considering the long term impact we have, otherwise we stand to jeopardize our own future.


Eng. Wissam Omar
Plant Manager – SARED Project
Hitachi, Ltd.

Hitachi will continue to monitor the Saudi City project, examining all processes and initiatives to ensure the client has the best product and solution we can deliver.

We look forward to working with other companies globally in the methodology of co-creation. Hitachi believes that bringing stakeholders directly in the development process will generate swift and effective results.

*“RemixWater” is a registered trademark of Hitachi, Ltd. in Japan, Australia, South Africa, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and other countries.


© Hitachi, Ltd. 1994, 2017. All rights reserved.

تصميم وتنفيذ وصيانة محطة تحلية مياه الصرف الصحي المدمجة في جدة - السعودية

×

التصميم المشترك لخلق مجتمع أخضر مزدهر

قامت شركة الخطوط السعودية للتطوير العقاري (SARED) ببناء مدينة سكنية ل 9000 من موظفي الشركة الوطنية في مدينة جدة. تحافظ المدينة على واحة خضراء من خلال إعادة تدوير واستخدام مياه الصرف القادمة من مختلف الأماكن السكنية والمكاتب والمحلات التجارية داخل حدودها. لقد تم معالجة وإعادة تدوير مياه الصرف الصحي في المدينة لمدة خمسة وعشرين عاما بواسطة محطة معالجة مياه صرف قديمة. وبمرور الوقت أصبح المرفق قديما وغير فعال مع ظهور مشاكل إنبعاث الروائح الكريهة، وتكاثر البعوض والحشرات وضعف جودة المياه المعالجة، بالإضافة إلى شغل المحطة القديمة مساحة كبيرة من الأرض. لهذه الأسباب قامت شركة (SARED) بجمع الموارد والكفاءات مع شركة هيتاشي. حيث عملت الشركتان معا على إنشاء تصميم مشترك لمحطة معالجة المياه في موقع جديد وذلك لمعالجة مشاكل المحطة القديمة وتقديم خدمة أفضل لمجتمع المدينة السكنية.

وباستخدام تقنية مفاعلات الأغشية الحيوية (MBR)، قامت هيتاشي ببناء محطة أصغر في الحجم مع إدارة جميع جوانب الهندسة والمشتريات والبناء. حيث تبلغ قدرة إعادة التدوير للمرفق الجديد 6000 متر مكعب من المياه يوميا لتستخدم بعد ذلك في ري أشجار المدينة والزهور والملاعب الرياضية.

تمثل تقنية (MBR) من هيتاشي عملية ترشيح دقيقة لإزالة البكتيريا والمواد الصلبة العالقة بمياه الصرف. حيث مكنت تلك التقنية شركة هيتاشي من تقديم حل للمشاكل العديدة لمحطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي القديمة.

تم تسليم محطة المعالجة الجديدة منذ أكثر من عام للعميل ووضعها قيد التشغيل بنجاح. وحتى مع هذا النجاح، تواصل شركة هيتاشي البحث عن طرق لتطوير هذا المشروع من خلال تطبيق أعمال الإبتكار الإجتماعي. حيث تبحث الشركة حاليا عن حل لمشاكل التسرب و غيرها من متطلبات الصيانة العامة أتوماتيكيا لتوفير الكفاءة الكاملة.

فقط من خلال الإلتزام والإبداع سوف نتمكن من خلق مستقبل مستدام لنا جميعا.

إنه لمن الرائع أن نرى إعادة تدوير سلعة ثمينة كالمياه وإستخدامها في غرض مفيد، لجعل المنطقة الصحراوية أكثر إخضرارا.


م. ماجد تصبحجي
مستشار الرئيس التنفيذي / شركة الخطوط السعودية للتطوير العقاري (SARED)

التحديات والحلول

التغلب على تحديات التصميم بالتفكير الإبداعي والتقنية الأكثر ذكاءا

لقد كانت شركة الخطوط السعودية للتطوير العقاري SARED على دراية كاملة بما يجب القيام به منذ البداية. حيث إستحوذت المحطة القديمة وحوض التصريف على مساحة كبيرة من الأرض. كما أصبح حوض التصريف المفتوح أرضا خصبة للبعوض والحشرات بجانب إنبعاث الروائح الكريهة التي تلوث المناطق المحيطة بها. ليس هذا فحسب بل القلق من جودة المياه المعالجة أيضا، كما يجب أن يراعي التصميم المطور مع العميل إنهاء عمليات الإنشاء بدون توقف محطة المعالجة القديمة.

قد ركز التصميم التعاوني على وحدات مفاعل الغشاء الحيوي من شركة هيتاشي (MBR). حيث أن وحدات مفاعل الغشاء الحيوي (MBR) مغلقة تماما مما يقلل فورا من إنبعاث الروائح الكريهة الناجمة عن مياه الصرف الصحي. كما أنها مدمجة، مما يسمح للمحطة الجديدة بأن تبنى على خمس مساحة الأرض التي إستحوذت عليها المحطة القديمة. وكميزة إضافية لتقنية (MBR) هي القابلية للنقل. حيث يسمح تصميم محطة المعالجة الجديدة من شركة هيتاشي بسهولة نقلها في حالة إعادة تخطيط المدينة بما يخدم خطط إعادة إنشاء الخدمات وخطط التوسع الأخرى.

وكذلك تضمن عمليات معالجة مياه الصرف الجديدة جودة المياه المعالجة. حيث تضخ المحطة الجديدة مياه الصرف الصحي الواردة لتمر من خلال سلسلة من ألواح إزالة الحصى والشحوم والرواسب. وذلك لإزالة الرواسب الصلبة الثقيلة، ثم يتم إرسال المياه إلى خزان وسيط قبل أن يمرر من خلال ألواح ترشيح مسامها بقطر 1 إلى 2 ملم. بعد عملية الترشيح، يتم تهوية الماء وأكسدته أي تشبيعه بلأكسجين لإزالة الكائنات الحية الدقيقة. في خزانات التهوية يمرر الماء عبر مفاعل الغشاء الحيوي (MBR)، MBR هي عملية ترشيح ميكروسكوبية عالية الدقة حيث تبلغ حجم مسام الغشاء 0.1 ميكرون ليس فقط لإزالة الأجسام الصلبة، ولكن أيضا لإزالة البكتريا و الفطريات. ثم يتم تطهير المياه بإضافة جرعة من هيدروكسيد الصوديوم NaOCI قبل أن يتم ضخه إلى واحدة من اثنين من حاويات التخزين المغلقة، والتي تعمل كبديل لحوض الصرف القديم مما يمنع تكاثر الحشرات.

لقد كنا على ثقة كاملة في هيتاشي بقدرتنا على بناء المحطة الجديدة بدون توقف المحطة القديمة، ولتمكين النظام القديم من العمل تمكنا من إعادة توجية الأنابيب على عدة مراحل مختلفة من الإنشاء


م. عبد الله بدر محمد
نائب المدير العام
قسم المبيعات وتطوير الأعمال
Hitachi, Ltd.
المقر الإقليمي لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا
فرع المملكة العربية السعودية (الخبر)

تمكن مهندسو شركة هيتاشي وفريق البناء من إكمال التصميم بدون قطع خدمات الصرف الصحي في أية مرحلة عن المدينة. حيث كان لدى الفريق العديد من الإحتمالات الطارئة، ولكن لم يتم إستخدام أي منها لقدرتهم على جدولة نقل و تجميع التوصيلات الجديدة مع أنابيب المحطة القديمة.

وقد ظهرت مشكلة واحدة غير معروفة خلال مراحل البناء. حيث تم تصميم حاويتان لتخزين المياه المعالجة بسعة 3,000متر مكعب لكل منهما. فقد تبين عدم قدرة الأرض على حمل الوزن الهائل للخزانات عند امتلاؤها بشكل كامل. بناءا على ذلك فقد قام فريق هيتاشي بدراسة المشكلة، وقرروا تدعيم الأرض من خلال الحفر بعمق 3.5 متر وملئ الحفرة بأتربة مكبوسة ووضع طبقة من الإسمنت المسلح فوقها، لبناء الخزانات العملاقة على أرضية صلبة.

وقد ظهرت مشكلة واحدة غير معروفة خلال مراحل البنالقد عمل فريق هيتاشي بتناغم وتعاون مع العميل في جميع جوانب العملية، كما تمكن من حل جميع المشاكل السابقة وتقديم منتج قادر على التلائم والتطور مع المدينة التي يخدمها.

حلم جديد

تعاون مستمر بالنمو وتغيير العالم

تعمل هيتاشي بشكل عام على حلول المياه بإستخدام تقنية المعلومات والإتصالات (ICT) مع أنظمة المياه المخلوطة (RemixWater) لتحلية مياه البحر و معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. حيث تعد تحلية مياه البحر ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي طريقتان رئيسيتان لإنتاج دائم ومستدام لمياه الشرب النظيفة ولإعادة إستخدام المياه لأغراض الري، وفق رؤية شركة هيتاشي.

وفيما يتعلق بمشروع مدينة السعودية بجدة، تقوم شركة هيتاشي باستكشاف دمج لحلول الإبتكار الإجتماعي وذلك لحل مشاكل التسرب بنظام شبكة الري وتحسين إدارة الصيانة الوقائية.

وللمضي قدما، سوف تقوم هيتاشي و شركة الخطوط السعودية للتطويرالعقاري (SARED) بدراسة سبل الإستفادة بشكل أفضل من النفايات الصلبة التي ينتجها المجمع السكني بجدة. حيث يتم حاليا، تجفيف النفايات كوسيلة أكثر كفاءة وأمانا للتخلص من ذلك المنتج الثانوي، لينتج عن عملية التجفيف هذه قشرة صلبة يتم التخلص منها في مكب محلي للنفايات. وسوف تعطى إعتبارات لمعالجة النفايات الصلبة، بحيث تكون قابلة للإستخدام كأسمدة عضوية، أوكتربة خصبة للزراعة. كما يمكن إستخلاص غاز الميثان في محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الكبيرة، ولكن اليوم وفي هذه المرحلة ومع التكنولوجيا المتاحة، لا يعد هذا الحل مطبقا بعد في مشروع شركة (SARED).

لا يمكننا التلاعب بالموارد المتاحة لنا دون النظر إلى الأثر طويل الأمد المترتب عليها، وإلا فإننا نعرض مستقبلنا للخطر.


المهندس وسام عمر
مدير المحطة – مشروع شركة الخطوط السعودية للتطويرالعقاري ((SARED
Hitachi, Ltd.

سوف تواصل شركة هيتاشي متابعة مشروع مدينة السعودية بجدة، وتفحص جميع العمليات والمبادرات لضمان حصول العميل على أفضل المنتجات والحلول، التي يمكننا تقديمها.

و نتطلع مستقبلا إلى العمل مع شركات أخرى على الصعيد العالمي وفق منهجية التعاون الإبداعي. حيث تؤمن شركة هيتاشي بأن إشراك أصحاب المصلحة مباشرة في عملية التطوير سوف يؤدي إلى نتائج سريعة وفعالة.