Providing Water to Help Create Desert Ecosystems

Hitachi solar-powered desalination plants provide fresh water in the remote Abu Dhabi desert regions

Overview

Providing Water to Help Create Desert Ecosystems

Hitachi solar-powered desalination plants provide fresh water in the remote Abu Dhabi desert regions. The Environment Agency of Abu Dhabi are creating new habitats in remote desert regions, to help re-introduce the Arabian Oryx which has been extinct in the wild since 1972. Working with Hitachi to supply solar powered desalination plants to provide fresh water for drinking and irrigation for the new plantations of native plants.

Challenge: Providing drinking water for the Oryx in the desert

The Arabian Oryx Re-introduction Programme requires a constant water supply, in remote desert locations, for both irrigating new plantations and for drinking. Abu Dhabi Emirate is an arid region with no permanent fresh water source and little rainfall. Water can be pumped from deep beneath the desert, however it is very saline and requires desalination. This was a challenge, particularly because there is no source of electricity supply to run the desalination plants.

Learn More

Solution: Environmentally friendly solution for providing water in the desert

Green energy is a must in Abu Dhabi, therefore the best solution was to produce self-contained water desalination plants where everything is powered by solar energy. 15 such plants have now been constructed in remote desert locations.

Learn More

Next Dream: Creating a habitat in the desert where life can thrive

The Solar powered desalination plants provide a constant supply of fresh water with no impact on the environment. The Arabian Oryx plus other wildlife and plants now have protected areas throughout the desert where they can thrive and increase in population within their natural habitat.

Learn More

Hitachi Infrastructure Systems help the re-introduction of the Arabian Oryx

The Arabian Oryx has always been admired for its beauty and has been celebrated in Arab art and literature. Destruction of their habitat and excessive hunting, by people who coveted their beautiful long horns, caused their extinction in the wild by 1972. The disappearance of this magnificent animal from the wild represented a significant loss, both for the cultural heritage and the biodiversity of the Arabian Peninsula.

A successful conservation programme was launched in 1968. Since then captive breeding efforts have increased the population to more than 4500, most of which live on reserves.

The Arabian Oryx Release Programme started in 2007. It is overseen by the Environment Agency of Abu Dhabi and aims to reintroduce the Arabian Oryx into a number of large protected areas, where they can roam freely in their natural habitat. However to sustain the Oryx these areas need to have the food, water and shade.

We have a specific need for solar powered de-salination plants to basically help us with our relocation and re-introduction programmes for the Arabian Oryx. The Oryx have been extinct in the wild since about the mid 70's in the UAE and a number of animals were collected and brought together and we have quite an intricate breeding programme.


James Hilyard
Unit Head, Infrastructure
Environment Agency of Abu Dhabi


© Hitachi, Ltd. 1994, 2017. All rights reserved.

تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

هيتاشي في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

الحل الأمثل للتصوير للأغراض الطبية في مصر

توفير المياه للمساعدة على إنشاء أنظمة بيئية في قلب الصحراء

توفر محطات هيتاشي لتحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية المياه العذبة في مناطق أبوظبي الصحراوية البعيدة . تعمل هيئة البيئة في أبوظبي على إنشاء مواطن جديدة في المناطق الصحراوية البعيدة للمساعدة على إعادة إطلاق المها العربية التي انقرضت من البرية منذ العام 1972. ويجري هذا العمل بالتعاون مع شركة هيتاشي لتوفير محطات تحلية المياه التي تعمل على الطاقة الشمسية بهدف توفير المياه العذبة للشرب وري النباتات الأصلية المزروعة حديثًا.

التحدي:توفير مياه الشرب للمها في الصحراء

التحدي: جهاز مسح بالرنين المغناطيسي يفي باحتياجات المريض والطبيب

يتطلب برنامج إعادة إطلاق المها العربية مصدرًا دائمًا للمياه في المناطق الصحراوية البعيدة لري المزروعات الجديدة وللشرب أيضاً. تعدّ إمارة أبوظبي منطقة قاحلة حيث لا تصلها المياه العذبة على نحوٍ دائم ونادرًا ما تشهد أمطارًا. فمن جهة يمكن ضخ المياه من الآبار الجوفية في الصحراء ولكن من جهة أخرى تتّسم هذه المياه بارتفاع نسبة ملوحتها وتتطلب بالتالي التحلية. من هنا جاء التحدي وبوجهٍ خاص في غياب مصدر الكهرباء لتشغيل محطات تحلية المياه.

الحل: حل صديق للبيئة لتوفير المياه في الصحراء

الحل: استخدام Hitachi Aperto Lucent، جهاز مسح بالرنين المغناطيسي

تُعد الطاقة النظيفة إحدى الضروريات في أبوظبي، وبالتالي تَمثّل أفضل حل في إنشاء محطات تحلية المياه المستقلة التي تعتمد تمامًا في تشغيلها على الطاقة الشمسية وحدها وتم إنشاء 15 محطة منها في المناطق الصحراوية البعيدة.

الحلم القادم:خلق موائل في الصحراء حيث يمكن للحياة أن تزدهر

النتيجة: خفض أعداد المدرجين على قوائم الانتظار وتقليل تكاليف الصيانة

بفضل محطات تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية، باتت تتوفر المياه العذبة بشكلٍ دائم من دون أي انعكاسات سلبية على البيئة، وباتت المها العربية بالإضافة إلى غيرها من الحيوانات الأخرى والنباتات محمية في مناطق ضمن الصحراء حيث يمكنها أن تنمو وتتكاثر داخل موطنها الطبيعي

تساعد شركة هيتاشي لأنظمة البنية التحتية على إعادة توطين المها العربية

لطالما تم التغني بجمال المها العربية وكانت من أكثر الحيوانات المجسّدة في الفن العربي والأدب، بيد أن تدمير موطن المها العربية واصطيادها بكثرة من قبل أشخاص طمعًا بقرونها الطويلة الجميلة أدّى إلى انقراضها من البرية بحلول العام 1972. وكانت لخسارة هذا الحيوان الفائق الجمال من البرية وقع كبير على التراث الثقافي والتنوّع البيولوجي لشبه الجزيرة العربية.

في هذا الإطار، تم إطلاق برنامج ناجح للحفاظ على أنواع الحيوانات في العام 1968 ومنذ ذلك الوقت أدت الجهود المبذولة لتربية الحيوانات في الأسر إلى زيادة أعدادهم فبلغوا أكثر من 4500 حيوان يعيش معظمهم في محميات.

بدأ برنامج إطلاق المها العربية في العام 2007 بإشراف هيئة البيئة في أبوظبي ويهدف إلى إعادة إطلاق المها العربية إلى العديد من المحميات الطبيعية الواسعة حيث يمكنها التجول بحرية في موطنها الطبيعي، ولكن تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّه من الضروري تأمين الطعام والمياه ومناطق الظل للحفاظ على المها العربية.

تشغيل الفيديو "نظرة عامة: محطات هيتاشي لتحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية، أبوظبي" (4 دقائق. 19 ثانية.)

 السيد كوجي موتو، المنسق الأول في سيهاي

نحن بحاجة ماسة إلى محطات تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية لمساعدتنا بشكلٍ رئيسي في برنامج إعادة توطين المها العربية وإعادة إطلاقها. لقد انقرضت المها من البرية منذ منتصف السبعينات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وتم جمع عددٍ من الحيوانات وضمّها في مكانٍ واحد وقمنا بإعداد برنامج معقّد لتربية هذه الحيوانات.

جايمس هليارد
رئيس وحدة قسم البنية التحتية
هيئة البيئة في أبوظبي

العميل:
هيئة البيئة

الصناعات:
حكومية

المنطقة:
أبوظبي

تاريخ الإصدار:
مارس. 2014

االمنتجات والخدمات:
حلول المياه

الحلول تقدمة:
شركة هيتاشي لأنظمة البنية التحتية

المحتوى متوفر في: